Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 8th, 2009

I have lately been having trouble with non-Christian girls on a forum. Generally religion doesn’t get brought up but when it does, most people are very respectful. However recently the subject of family life got brought up and most of them objected very strongly (there were some choice words used!) to my belief that the best (and God-ordained) role for the raising of children is in a nuclear family comprised of a mother and father who are married for life to each other. By nuclear family, I am not excluding the extended family (i.e. grandparents and other relatives sharing the family home), just the mockery of family that has been popularised in this day and age with single people and worse adopting.

This is not to say that forgiveness is not possible for those who have strayed outside of the norm, but God is clear about what He expects of His people. One girl told me that ‘the idea of a family was a patriarchal construct used to stop women attaining any real power’. What a ridiculous idea! What is more powerful than raising the next generation? Even if the world does not see the stay-at-home mother as important, does that mean that she is unimportant? Certainly not! How glad I am that I turned away from this worldly nonsense, and that I have sweet sisters in Christ to support me! Please pray for these girls, that they may see the light too.

Read Full Post »